Chocolate Oatmeal Raisin Muffins

Yesterday I wanted something chocolatey like nobody’s business. As per usual, my cupboard offered up solutions in the form of ingredients with a mostly empty bag of cocoa powder being the only chocolate around. My first thought was to wizard up some sort of applesauce img_0501muffins, but those dreams were dashed when I realized I don’t have applesauce.  We’re also low on coconut oil, which I use to replace butter, so that limited my recipe choice as well.  After coming to terms with the fact that I need to seriously restock my pantry (did you know that if you open and close the cupboard doors repeatedly, new foods don’t magically appear?!), I proceeded to search my recipes for a jumping off point.

I found an ancient recipe for chocolate muffins in my recipe folder that did not require coconut oil or applesauce which was just what I needed. The original recipe is for a plain chocolate muffin, so I obviously had to fancy it up a bit with oatmeal, pecans, and raisins. I also added brewed coffee to enhance the chocolate flavor, but if you’d prefer to leave it out, use a total of 1 1/3 cups of almond milk instead. If you don’t have oatmeal on hand, use a total of 2 cups of flour; it will change the texture of the muffins slightly, but they’ll still be yummy. And let’s be serious, if you add some chocolate chips, this muffin will transform from chocolatey breakfast to super chocolate dessert!

Chocolate Oatmeal Raisin Muffins 

  • 2/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 ½ cups all purpose flour
  • ½ cup old fashioned oats
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 fake eggs: 1 tablespoon Ener-G egg replacer & ¼ cup water
  • 1 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1/3 cup brewed coffee
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup raisins
  • ½ cup pecans, broken into pieces

Directions

Preheat oven to 400°F.

In a large bowl, combine cocoa, flour, oatmeal, sugar, baking soda, salt. Whisk in pecans.

In a medium bowl, whisk egg replacer ingredients until well combined. Add almond milk, brewed coffee, oil, and vanilla. Whisk until combined.

Add wet mixture to dry and stir until just moistened. Add raisins and stir to combine.

*If you want super plump raisins, add them to the wet mixture and wait a minute before adding wet to dry.

Coat muffin tin with cooking spray or line with cupcake papers. Scoop batter evenly into prepared pan. I filled mine about 2/3 full.

Bake for about 20 minutes; toothpick or cake tester inserted into center of muffin should come out clean.  Keep an eye on these muffins as they near the end of their baking time, the edges can begin to burn.

Remove from oven, allow to cool in muffin pan for one to two minutes before turning out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

Yield: 18 muffins

 

img_0491
My super action whisking shot!
img_0493
All mixed up.
img_0495
Ready to bake!
img_0497
Chocolate muffin awesomeness!
img_0519
These pair beautifully with a cup of coffee.
2 thoughts on “Chocolate Oatmeal Raisin Muffins

Leave a Reply

