Marshmallow Crispy Treats

As a child, I loved marshmallow treats and I definitely missed them when I went vegetarian/vegan. When I first found Dandies Vegan Marshmallows, I was so overjoyed to have them back in my life, I made more than my fair share of crispy treats. At first, I stuck to the classic rice cereal, but that quickly escalated into img_0333mixing cereals and even additions such as raisins or cacao  nibs.

This recipe is straight forward and seriously simple. As I mentioned, you can use pretty much any cereal. I have found that if I’m using a cereal with multiple textures (like the maple one I’m using today), it’s best to also blend it with plain rice cereal. Mostly because the different shaped/textured cereal pieces are usually bigger than the rice cereal and you may end up with lots of loose cereal bits. Other options include either using slightly less of the bigger-sized cereal or (my favorite) using more marshmallow. If you want to add raisins, the same rule applies- more bulk needs more marshmallow to hold it all together.

Other delicious variations I’ve tried:

  • Peanut butter and chocolate cereal with raisins
  • Classic rice cereal with chocolate chips (chocolate will melt and turn the whole batch into a chocolatey bonanza)
  • Classic rice cereal with cacao nibs and raisins
  • Marshmallow Party- use a bag & a half of marshmallows

I’ve even added a couple of teaspoons of pure maple syrup to the melted coconut oil to add maple flavor to the classic version. I’m sure fruity cereals would work as well and I’ve been wanting to try it with a specific granola. I don’t think you can go wrong here!

 

Vegan Marshmallow Crispy Treats

  • 3 tablespoons Coconut Oil
  • 10 ounces Dandies Vegan Marshmallows (1 bag)
  • 6 cups Rice Cereal or Cereals of choice

In a 5 quart pot, melt coconut oil on low heat. Or if it’s above 76° in your kitchen, just measure out the liquid oil into the pan and heat it up. Add marshmallows all at once and stir until melted. Resist your urge to turn up the heat to make them melt faster; they will burn quickly and you will be ever so sad. Once melted, remove from heat.

Working relatively quickly, add rice cereal, two cups at a time and stir until fully incorporated.

Press into a 9X13 pan. Allow to cool, cut in to squares, and enjoy!

img_0320
Unfortunately, there were only 2 cups of the maple cereal left. Last time I made these, I used 4 cups maple cereal and 2 cups plain rice cereal.
img_0331
Even the marshmallow is excited to be vegan. 🙂
img_0313
Marshmallows are melting nicely. The golden color is from where I let them sit on the heat a touch too long before stirring and they began to caramelize.
img_0311
Ready to mix!
img_0321
So much marshmallowy goodness!
img_0335
Yes, please!
img_0325
Sam is hoping fervently that I spill a bit more rice cereal.
Leave a Reply

