Strawberry Chocolate Chip Cake

Way back over the winter holidays, I snagged a jar of Wholesome Sweeteners vegan wild strawberry icing in a Whole Foods. I was super pumped to find a ready-to-go vegan frosting. I was flooded with ideas for wizarding up an amazing strawberry cake. Too many, actually. Each imagined cake sounded even better than the last! So I finally made a random choice and here we are.

IMG_0411
Before being chilled.

In the end, this cake wound up being more of a chocolate chip cake with strawberry highlights, but it is definitely a step towards creating the ultimate vegan strawberry cake. That being said, this cake was fantastically delicious! First of all, the jammy filling was amazing and fruity. The frosting was rather sweet but still had a nice strawberry tartness. The cake itself was tender and rich with chocolate chips (I used ½ cup, but you can totally use more).

I put my cake in the fridge overnight and the filling set very nicely. It was good, albeit a bit messy, before being chilled. I think in the future, I will construct the cake with filling and then put it in the fridge to set for at least ten minutes before frosting it. Otherwise, the filling wants to ooze out as you frost the cake. I added the chilling step to the recipe, but, of course, you can eat it either way.

IMG_0444
After being chilled.

If you are using a jar of frosting and not creating your own, I recommend warming up the frosting a bit to make it easier to spread. I scooped some into a glass bowl and microwaved it for, like, 10 seconds; just enough to make it spread without sticking and tearing the top of the cake. I should point out that I did not use the entire jar of frosting on my cake. Since I found it to be super sweet, I figured a layer on the top would be all that I needed. I would imagine there would have been enough to frost the whole thing, however.

Seriously, this cake though! After I would eat a piece of this cake, all I could do was think about how much I wanted to eat more cake. In fact, writing about this cake is making me want cake! So I’d say I am enjoying my journey towards the ultimate vegan strawberry cake. I also happened to get a chocolate version of the Wholesome Sweeteners vegan frosting at the same time. I can already envision a future choco-strawberry cake! Until then, I hope you enjoy this one.

Strawberry Chocolate Chip Cake

Cake

  • 2¾ cups pastry flour (or unbleached all purpose flour)
  • 2½ teaspoons baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg (optional)
  • 1¼ cup sugar
  • ¾ cup coconut oil, softened
  • 3 fake eggs- 1 tablespoon+ 1½ teaspoon Ener G Egg Replacer and 6 tablespoons water
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup vanilla almond milk
  • ½ – ¾ cup chocolate chips

Filling

  • ¼ cup coconut butter
  • 1 teaspoon coconut oil
  • ¾ cup strawberry jam

Frosting

  • Wholesome Sweeteners  Wild White Strawberry Frosting (or frosting of choice)

Directions

Gather all your ingredients together and preheat your oven to 350°F. Grease two 8 or 9 inch cake pans.

In a large mixing bowl, but not the bowl of your stand mixer, whisk together the flour, baking powder, nutmeg, and salt. Set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk up your egg replacer so that are no lumps remaining. Set this aside with your flour mixture.

In the bowl of your stand mixer or in a large mixing bowl, beat together the sugar and coconut oil until it is light and fluffy.

Incorporate your egg replacer 2 tablespoons at a time, making sure each addition is fully incorporated. Add the vanilla.

Beginning and ending with the flour mixture, alternate adding the flour mix and almond milk to the sugar/fake egg batter. Be sure to scrape down the sides between additions to be sure all is well mixed.

Add chocolate chips and mix until just incorporated.

Spread the batter equally between the two cake pans. I used a measuring cup to be sure my cake layers would be more equal than not.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes. Toothpick or cake tester inserted in center should come out clean.

I let my cakes cool in the pan for 3 to 5 minutes before turning them out onto a wire rack. I left one cake “upside down” to become my bottom layer. By using the bottom of the cake as the top, you get a smooth surface to spread the filling onto. Allow cakes to cool completely.

To make the filling you will want both your coconut butter and your coconut oil softened and your jam at room temperature (cold jam will cause the coconut butter and oil to begin to reharden making it difficult to combine into a smooth filling). First combine the coconut butter and oil. Once that is smoothed together, add the jam and mix completely.

For this part, I placed my cake on parchment paper on a flat cookie sheet. You can use whatever will both accommodate your cake and fit in the fridge. When cakes are cool, spread filling evenly on the upside down cake, making sure to leave a margin around the edge. The margin allows for the displacement of the filling when the top cake is added.

Carefully add the top cake and place in the refrigerator to set for 10 minutes. After filling is set, frost this beautiful cake to your heart’s desire and enjoy!

IMG_0391
Dry ingredients whisked and ready.
IMG_0393
Coconut oil and sugar beaten until fluffy.
IMG_0397
Batter with added egg replacer and vanilla.
IMG_0398
Spread evenly in two pans. I used a measuring cup to divide out the batter.
IMG_0399
Fresh from the oven.
IMG_0404
Cakes are about an inch thick.
IMG_0401
Coconut butter and coconut oil should be smooth and easy to stir.
IMG_0405
Filling evenly spread.
IMG_0407
Looks amazing like this!
IMG_0409
Frosted and sitting temptingly on the counter. You can see where the filling ran out.

 

One thought on “Strawberry Chocolate Chip Cake

Leave a Reply

