Pumpkin Apple Hemp Muffins

IMG_0493The other day, I came across a couple of cans of pumpkin purée in my cupboard and made it my goal to make some muffins this week. Usually, I grow my own pumpkins and cook and purée them myself. However, while last year’s garden yielded quite a bounty of butternut squashes, it fell short in the pumpkin department. So at the end of the winter holidays when my local grocer clearanced out their organic pumpkin, I bought a few cans. I used one back in January and then promptly forgot about them.

These muffins are fairly simple to make. I used a stand mixer, but it’s not necessary to achieve a delicious muffin. Please don’t think this recipe is not for you if you don’t have one. They will be just as tasty if mixed my hand.

As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I rarely use only one kind of flour. I also realize that seeing multiple flour types listed can be a deterrent to those seeking a simple recipe. For those of you who are interested, I used 1 cup of whole wheat pastry flour and 1½ cups unbleached all purpose flour. Also, I didn’t have enough organic canola oil, so I used ¼ cup organic canola oil and ¼ cup coconut oil. Be sure your coconut oil is in liquid form before adding it in.

If you don’t have or don’t like hemp seeds, you can always substitute it for your favorite nut or leave it out altogether. I rather enjoy hemp seeds. Not only are they tasty and easy to toss into just about any recipe, but they also pack a nice nutritional punch. Just 3 tablespoons of raw hemp seed provides you with 10g of protein and 25% of both your daily calcium and iron (based on a 2,000 calorie diet).

These muffins are so lovely. They are moist, tender, and sweet. The apple complements the pumpkin and the hemp seeds add a nice nuttiness. The fragrant spices fill your senses as you bite into one. They are wonderful fresh from the oven and, of course, pair well with a cup of coffee!

Happy baking!

Pumpkin Apple Hemp Muffins

  • 2½ cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 “fake” eggs- 1 tablespoon Ener-G egg replacer + ¼ cup water
  • 1½ cups sugar
  • ½ cup vanilla almond milk
  • ½ cup vegetable oil
  • 1 can (15 oz) pumpkin purée
  • ¼ cup raw hemp seeds
  • 2 small apples, peeled and chopped (about 1½ cups)

Directions

Gather together all of your ingredients. Line muffin cups with paper liners or spray with cooking spray. Preheat oven to 350°F.

In a medium-sized bowl (but not the bowl to your stand mixer), combine flour, baking soda, salt, and pumpkin pie spice.

In the bowl of your stand mixer (or a large mixing bowl), whisk together the fake egg until no lumps remain. Add sugar and mix with whisk attachment until well combine, about a minute.

Add the vegetable oil, almond milk, and pumpkin purée and mix thoroughly. I used speed 4 on my mixer and mixed about a minute.

Add hemp seed and chopped apple. Mix gently until combine. I used the stir setting on the mixer, but you can also do this by hand with a wooden spoon or similar.

Add flour mixture all at once and beat in until combine. Be careful not to over mix as that can lead to a tougher muffin texture.

Fill prepared muffin cups with batter, about ¾ full.

Bake for 20 minutes or until toothpick/cake tester inserted in the center of muffins comes out clean. Cool in pan for 1 minute, then remove to wire rack to cool completely.

Enjoy as is or top with a glaze.

Yield: I made 23.

IMG_0484
Batter mix before adding the flour. You can see it is very liquidy.
IMG_0485
Batter mixed and ready to be doled out into muffins.
IMG_0487
I filled my muffin cups rather generously.
IMG_0488
Fresh from the oven.
IMG_0489
Such beautiful texture!
Leave a Reply

