Soft Pita Wraps

IMG_1985Oh my gosh, soft pita wraps! I live for this bread. I once thought these soft, chewy wraps were the sole custody of Mediterranean restaurants and bakeries. Then, a few years back I was elated to find them at Whole Foods. However since I don’t live near a Whole Foods, it was still a rare treat to get them. Well today, I have lost my dependence on pita providers. Today, I made soft pita wraps at home and they are amazing!

I’m not sure how I overlooked this recipe in my King Arthur Flour Bakers Companion Cookbook for so long. It’s seriously only a few pages away from a well-used tortilla recipe.  Once informed of the Pita Power at my finger-tips, I jumped on the chance to make my favorite bread at home.  I have officially entered a new era of deliciousness and I’m not looking back.

These pitas are simple to make and have the potential to be made into various versions. Not willing to ever leave a recipe as is, I added turmeric and garlic powder in my first version. I imagine oregano, thyme, rosemary, or basil would be nice mixed in as well. Or maybe a small amount of cinnamon sugar for a sweet version.(That sounds like it would be great with peanut butter!)

As with many yeast breads, you will need time for this recipe. There is about two hours total rising time involved and it took me around 20 minutes to dry-fry the batch. Believe me, these pitas are well worth your effort and the wait!

Soft Pita Wraps

 

  • 3- 3¼ cups unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • ¼ cup potato flour, or  ½ cup potato flakes
  • 1¼ teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon active dry yeast, to be dissolved in ¼ cup warm water
  • ½ teaspoon turmeric (optional)
  • ½ teaspoon garlic powder (optional)

Gather together all of your ingredients. Place 2 cups of flour in the bowl of your stand mixer or a large mixing bowl. Pour the boiling water over the flour and stir until well mixed. Cover with cloth napkin or similar and allow mixture to cool for 30 minutes.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the potato flour and 1 cup of the remaining flour with the salt, oil, and any spices. Dissolve yeast in ¼ cup of warm water (be sure it’s not too hot or it will deactivate the yeast).

Add potato flour mixture and yeast to the cooled flour-water mixture. Stir, then knead for several minutes. I kneaded my dough in a stand mixer between 3 and 5 minutes. The dough should form a ball and still be a slightly sticky. Only add the remaining flour if necessary. Be sure to keep your hands and work area oiled if you are kneading by hand. Place the dough in a lightly greased bowl, cover, and allow to rise for 1 hour.

Turn dough out onto your work surface and divide into 8 equal pieces (about 3 ounces each). A dough cutter works great here if you have one.  Roll into balls, cover, and let them rest for 15 to 30 minutes.

Heat a large frying pan on medium-high heat. Roll each dough ball into a 7-8 inch circle and dry-fry them (no oil) for 1 to 2 minutes per side. Pitas should get those trademark brown spots and be puffy (some will puff more than others). Be sure to check them as they cook; most of my pitas cooked 1 minute per side. If your pan is too hot it will burn the exterior, but leave the interior raw. If your pan is not hot enough, your pitas will dry out as they cook.

Transfer cooked pitas to a wire rack. Stacking them atop one another helps keep them soft and pliable. Serve immediately or cool slightly before storing.

Yield: 8 pitas

IMG_1286
Kneaded and ready to rise.
IMG_1321
After the first rise. This dough got nice and big in my warm, summer kitchen!
IMG_1322
Eight mostly even dough balls.
IMG_1980
There is plenty of time to roll out the next pita while another one cooks.
IMG_1982
I got quite the assembly line going!
IMG_1988
What a beautiful pile of pitas.
IMG_1991
That’s what I’m talking about!
Leave a Reply

